The Grand Lodge was formally constituted on October 30, 1778, with its headquarters in Williamsburg, Virginia by the union of nine chartered Lodges: Norfolk, Port Royal, Blandford, Fredericksburg, Saint Tammany, Williamsburg, Botetourt, Cabin Point, and Yorktown.

Today, the Grand Lodge of Virginia is located in Richmond, Virginia where it relocated in 1784.

George Washington was invited to be the first Grand Master but was unable to accept the honor due to his military duties in the war for American independence, and because he had never been installed as Master or Warden of a Lodge, he did not consider it Masonically legal to serve as Grand Master.

Historical Information

The Grand Lodge of Virginia has had three Presidents of the United States.

George Washington – Fredericksburg Lodge No. 4

James Monroe – Williamsburg Lodge No. 6

James McKinley – Winchester Hiram Lodge No. 21

Copyrighted © 2001, Grand Lodge, A.F. & A.M., of Virginia, All rights reserved.

This is the official Website of the Grand Lodge of Virginia. We are not responsible for information that may be found in other locations or contained in external links.

Grand Lodge, A.F. & A.M., of Virginia
4115 Nine Mile Road Richmond, Virginia 23223-4926 | Phone: 804-222-3110 | Fax: 804-222-4253