The Grand Lodge was formally constituted on October 30, 1778, with its headquarters in Williamsburg, Virginia by the union of nine chartered Lodges: Norfolk, Port Royal, Blandford, Fredericksburg, Saint Tammany, Williamsburg, Botetourt, Cabin Point, and Yorktown.

Today, the Grand Lodge of Virginia is located in Richmond, Virginia where it relocated in 1784.

George Washington was invited to be the first Grand Master but was unable to accept the honor due to his military duties in the war for American independence, and because he had never been installed as Master or Warden of a Lodge, he did not consider it Masonically legal to serve as Grand Master.

Historical Information

The history of the Grand Lodge of Virginia (Full)

Famous Freemasons

Virginia Grand Masters 1778 through today

Book with the complete History of the Grand Lodge of Virginia 

The Grand Lodge of Virginia has had three Presidents of the United States.

George Washington - Fredericksburg Lodge No. 4 

James Monroe - Williamsburg Lodge No. 6 

James McKinley - Winchester Hiram Lodge No. 21 

a adkins-sm

Alan W. Adkins

Grand Secretary
Contact Us